Pesco Circles

In this article, we are going to discuss Pesco Circles. Before jumping into regions, let’s have a short intro about wapda. Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) was established in 1958 under the WAPDA Act 1958.

Before that, the supply of electricity in Pakistan was handled by various agencies across various areas, both in the public and private sectors. The various regions of WAPDA executed local area distribution of electricity. Then, the Area Electricity Board (AEB) Peshawar is one of eight AEBs in Pakistan.

It was formed in the Area Electricity Boards (AEBs) framework in 1982 to give more autonomy. And representation for provincial governments and industrialists, elected representatives, agriculturalists, and other interested groups that are partly associated with the ABC.

Peshawar AEB was reorganized as an entity corporatized with Peshawar Electric Supply Corporation (PESCO). AEB starting 22/03/1998 following the disbanding from the Water And Power Development Authority.

The intention of commercialization and eventual privatization

Pesco has been divided into 8 circles, covering approximately 1,204,621 hectares in total. The covered area of Pesco is divided in the following manner.

Pesco Circles

  1. Bannu Circle
  2. Hazara-1 Circle
  3. Hazara-2 Circle
  4. Peshawar Circle
  5. Swat Circle
  6. Khyber Circle
  7. Mardan Circle
  8. Swabi Circle

For applying a new connection, You can check other articles where you will find complete detail.

What is the reason Hazara has been divided into two circles?

The Chairman, The Board of Directors (BOD) of PESCO, TARBELL Ghazi, has divided the Hazara division into two circles. This resulted from the arduous efforts of Deputy Speaker National Assembly Murtaza Javaid Abbasi.

One circle is comprised of districts Haripur as well as district Abbottabad called the Abbottabad circle. In the Mansehra circles, district Batgram, Mansehra, Upper Kohistan, Lower Kohistan, district Tor Ghar and areas of Basham and Azad Kashmir will be added.

It was discovered that as a result of establishing a new circular, 4000 additional vacant positions would be created. The supply of electricity and the meter reading service will be enhanced in addition to the resolution of other electrical issues.

According to the information in the report, it was a long-standing requirement of the residents of the Hazara section to separate the PESCO Hazara into two circles. Hazara Circle PESCO was spread across seven districts in the Hazara division.

The residents of the region were faced with multiple issues with electricity supply because of the vast size. Office bearers from Wapda Hydro Electric Labor Union Hazara Division. And the residents from the Hazara division have sent a string of letters.

This letter sends to all parliamentarians and ministers of Hazara division Wapda as well as Deputy Speakers National Assembly and Governor KPK with their two main requests for electricity. One was creating a grid station for them within the Hazara division.

The other was the division of PESCO Hazara into two circles. Vice Speaker National Assembly Murtaza Javaid Abbasi, who is from the Hazara division is active. He declares Hazara division residents’ demands as Hazara division to be genuine.

He allotted 20 million rupees in August 2015 to meet their initial demand. The construction of new grid stations for Hazara in Mansehra. A vast portion of land belonging to Wapda was lying idle.

Their second request is set to be fulfilled as the Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, Murtaza Javaid Abbasi, will pay for the expenses of the PESCO division through his fund, which is estimated to be as high as Rs1 billion.

Leave a Comment